IPOH, 26 Nov – Australian, Joshua Ferris stole the limelight in the Men’s Elite category of the Asian Triathlon Cup (ATC) 2022 as he timed it to perfection to run down the field of 55 participants and take the tape at the Silverlake Village Outlet, Ipoh today.

Despite not being the favourite athlete, the 21-year-old ace who is currently ranked 35th in Asia put on a consistent and strong performance in all three disciplines namely swimming (750m,) cycling (20km) and run (5km).

He is the only triathlete who dipped below 54 minutes as he stopped the clock at 53:53 minutes.

Wong Tsz To from Hong Kong crossed the finish line to earn silver while Wong’s compatriot, Yu Shing Him trailed closely to secure the bronze medal.

Both the Hong Kong triathletes completed the race with a total time of 54.18 and 54:30 minutes respectively.

“It was a very challenging and thrilling race starting right from the very first swimming discipline. Every triathlete did their utmost best to get into the momentum once they jumped into the lake,” he said.

“As for me, I was feeling excited too but I didn’t want to push too hard in the beginning as I need to retain my energy for two more other disciplines. So, I just maintain my pace and make sure I stay on course with the front pack.

“Once we reach the second discipline (cycling) and the final stage which is running, I pushed up my game and increase my tempo. I tried to be in the lead until the very end despite the challenges from other triathletes.

“I am eager to be back here again if the ATC is held in Malaysia next year. The challenges we face here are different from other countries, especially the running discipline that we go through – running in between the buildings.

“On the other hand, I must give credit to the organisers, Perak Triathlon Association, Malaysia Triathlon Association and Stage Maker Sdn Bhd for organising such a successful event especially in gathering many top Asian participants to join this ATC,” Joshua concluded.

Five Malaysian triathletes participated in the men elite category, Chong Xian Hao, Issac Tan, Thiang Chong Yoong, Lee Wen Jun and Nicholas Long Seh Kit completed the race.

Meanwhile, as for the women elite, Celine Kaiser from Germany won the race in a total time of 1:00.52s while Olivia Thornbury from New Zealand secured second place and Manami Hayashi (Japan) came in third.


About The Author


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here