PETALING JAYA, 29 Oct – It is not the way to go out but Sabah will not take part in this year’s Malaysia Cup after the National Security Council (NSC) failed to give the team the clearance to leave the state due to Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) which has been extended to Nov 9.
It is all the more hurting for the East Malaysia when it was revealed by Malaysian Football League (MFL) chief executive officer, Datuk Ab Ghani Hassan that Sabah’s postponed Super League match against UiTM FC scheduled to be held at the Hang Jebat Stadium in Melaka on Saturday will not take place.
Instead, UiTM FC has been awarded the match with a 3-0 win and three points which moved them up go sixth place with 17 points in the 12-team league while Sabah ended up in 10th position with nine points.
There were more to come when Sabah to feature in this Sunday’s Malaysia Cup draw and the team drawn against the East Malaysian side will be awarded a berth in the quarter-finals with a 3-0.
This is year’s Malaysia Cup will be played on a new format on a knockout basis due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
It is certainly a cruel blow to Sabah football as the team was looking forward playing in the prestigious and oldest football competition in this region.
While Sabah is feeling the Covid-19 heat, teams from the Klang Valley – Selangor, Petaling Jaya City FC, UiTM and Kuala Lumpur – will be feature in the Malaysia Cup although Selangor, Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya are also under CMCO.
According to Ghani these teams will play their matches in Green Zones which will be decided with the help of MFL.
Pasukan-pasukan yang layak ke Piala Malaysia 2020:
JDT, Selangor, Felda United, Pahang, Kedah, UiTM FC, Sabah, Kelantan, Perak, Melaka United, Pulau Pinang, Kuching FA, Terengganu FC, PJ City FC, Kuala Lumpur, Kelantan United.

About The Author


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here